High School Science

As a high school science student, you will have the opportunity to learn in greater detail about the world around and within you. You are encouraged to ask questions and extend your learning in specific areas of interest. All of the science teachers are more than happy to assist you in further learning about any topic.

Department Initiatives

This year the Science Department is further exploring science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) teaching and learning initiatives from the unique perspective of virtual education. We are committed to providing high-quality learning opportunities for all our students. STEM education is essential to 21st-century learners, as it is "driven by problem solving, discovery, exploratory learning, and student-centered development of ideas and solutions" (STEM Georgia website).

Courses Offered

Below is a general list of course offerings. Placement into a course will be determined by successful completion of your previous science courses. You will need to earn a minimum of 4 units of credit in the sciences to graduate.

• AP® Biology
• AP® Environmental Science
• Forensics
• General Biology
• General Earth Science or Chemistry
• General Physical Science or Physics
• General Environmental Science or other science elective course
• Honors Biology
• Honors Chemistry
• Honors Physics

High School Science Resources

Discovery Science Channel
EOCT Biology Study Guide [PDF]
• EOCT Physical Science Guide [PDF] - link coming soon
National Geographic
PBS Science and Nature
Science Buddies
Study Skills for Students

Science Clubs

• Aspiring Medical Professionals Club (AMPC)
• 4-H Club (local chapters only)

Learn more about GCA High School Clubs - link coming soon

Science Department Directory

Main Line: 404.334.4790

Name Email Ext.
KC Billy kbilly@gacyber.org 570
Amy Binder abinder@gacyber.org 518
Kimela Bryant kbryant@gacyber.org 2244
Deena Cook decook@gacyber.org 1092
Kelley Ergle kergle@gacyber.org 948
Richard Faucett rfaucett@gacyber.org 2087
Michelle Grabowski mgrabowski@gacyber.org 2629
Mark Hines mhines@gacyber.org 553
Jessica Jung jpetrea@gacyber.org 595
Beth Kemp ekemp@gacyber.org 2154
Joni McNeely jmcneely@gacyber.org 2347
Elissa Newman lenewman@gacyber.org 2640
Donna Palazzolo dopalazzolo@gacyber.org 2124
Rachel Quirello rquirello@gacyber.org 2290
Emma Rice erice@gacyber.org 2637
Erika Robinson erobinson@gacyber.org 607
Fransiska Shaw-Majeed fshaw-majeed@gacyber.org 2665
Wandrea Strowbridge wstrowbridge@gacyber.org 2186
Jessica Stubbs jstubbs@gacyber.org 2335
Lindsay West lwest@gacyber.org 1082
Stacy Yeomans syeomans@gacyber.org  
Rebekah Zimmerman rzimmerman@gacyber.org 2082


 

Science Department Leads

Name Email Ext.
Amy Capello acapello@gacyber.org 520
Rebekah Zimmerman rezimmerman@gacyber.org 2082